Alaska

Alaska writing

Let me just clear out the dust and cobwebs around this place….sorry it’s been a few weeks since I’ve written anything. Life happened and then we went on vacation. And, since it’s much more exciting to talk about vacation than real life at the moment, let’s just start there!

My mother-in-law has been planning this vacation for over a year now, so it’s pretty epic. She, her three sons and their wives and children (7 adults, 7 children) are in the middle of a 7 day Alaskan cruise!

I am currently writing this as we are cruising slowly through the Tracy Arm Fjord (somewhere in Alaska, glacier pics to follow). Hubby and toddler are napping on the bed with Zootopia playing quietly in the background on the ipad (soundtrack of my life) and I’m sipping a hot macchiato whilst awaiting room service to deliver my lunch. It’s truly amazing. Not every moment has been this serene and relaxing but the kids have all been relatively well behaved and the sights are breathtaking. The shore excursions thus far have been both fascinating and educational. The food….ay yi yi the food! I won’t go into too much detail about the food but I’m enjoying lots of seafood, carbs and riesling…I’ll just leave it at that.

And…possibly the best part of the whole trip….I haven’t had any internet access the vast majority of the time. I couldn’t justify the $100+ for 1 device charge for the week on the ship. I just don’t need internet that much. I’ve gotten spotty service while in the port towns but haven’t had much time to do anything but send off a few quick text messages even then. It’s been slightly painful to disconnect but ultimately fantastic. My attention is focused in the right direction.

**I wrote this a few days ago, we got home at 3am today. Hopefully I can be back to some regular blogging this week!**

Here are a few pictures from our trip. Have a good weekend everyone!

 

Skagway River taken on a train ride up the White Pass & Yukon railroad which was made during the Klondike gold rush in Skagway, Alaska.

Skagway River

 

Daws Glacier in Tracy Arm FjordDaws Glacier

 

Buchart Gardens in Victoria, British ColombiaImage 2016-07-30 16.48.07 (1)

 

My baby girl enjoying the sunshine 🙂Harper Buchart Gardens

Leave a Reply

