Little Reminders

Hey folks, following up on my Weekly Imperfections #1 post from yesterday.

While I thought it was a pretty decent idea to just share some things that I thought would be relatable to other busy moms and women about how my week wasn’t exactly a shining picture of productivity, it actually had an unintended consequence for me…

I  felt great after sharing those things “out loud”.

It was almost like a little weight lifted off my chest. I was letting someone else know a little about what I was struggling with. They weren’t huge struggles, they were actually pretty simple little things-believe me, there are much bigger things I worry about daily, these were baby step admissions. But, I didn’t feel the greatest about them and normally wouldn’t tell anyone at all. But, I pushed myself out of my comfort zone a little bit and I did it and I feel like I’m reaping a few rewards from it today.

When I happened to wake up 10 minutes before my alarm went off this morning, it seemed like a sign that I needed to take those few minutes and actually shave my damn legs! Simply because I’d finally verbalized that it was bothering me. So, I did. Isn’t it crazy how much more comfortable shaved legs feel?

Also, while at my parent’s house last night, I threw my toddler in the bath with my little nephew while he got his bath (my sister and her family were spending the night). I didn’t have her soap, bath toys, hair detangler or jammies with me and it was way out of our normal bath time routine but…who cares? She got a bath and she got to spend extra time with her cousin–she needed to learn that it’s ok to do things outside of our normal routine too…something that’s obviously very hard for her mommy to do.

It seems so small but it’s a good way to get out of your own head and to get out of your routine if you struggle with those things like I do. It was a great reminder for me to keep doing those things more often. So, please, remind yourself to keep doing the small things that help you get through your week a littler easier as well!

And have a great holiday weekend! We’ll be potty training at my house–stay posted for updates on that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

